The renovation of this historic building has deep roots in our city’s history. Established in 1923, the club is often regarded as the heart of Old Ottawa South, nestled between Brewer Park and the Rideau River. Prior to his passing, Mike Lundy was a dedicated, long-time board member (and mediocre tennis player) with a personal appreciation for many benefits that the club brought to neighbourhood families over generations. The restoration project was originally proposed by Mike and his fellow board members with the vision of pulling the building back from a point of irreversible deterioration, while upgrading the facility to today’s building code standards.
Fundraising efforts were carefully dovetailed with construction progress and the renovation progressed steadily through the global pandemic with completion in time for the club’s 100th anniversary celebration.
The project goal was to convert the clubhouse into a four-season building, upgrade the structure to meet today’s building code, modernize the mechanical and electrical systems, and refurbish the interior finishes.
Renovating the 100-year-old building came with many challenges: Poor soil conditions, a puzzling patchwork of irrigation pipes, and rotted structural members to name a few. To the challenge, Lundy brought our inhouse modeling team to get ahead of the issues and find workable solutions in real time.
With the rejuvenation project complete, this beloved Ottawa landmark is prepared to serve our community for another century.